Three Sentence Story

This brief “story” is the child of an assignment given to me during my current fiction workshop at Bard College. It was certainly a challenge to restrain myself to such a short passage. The product turned out stranger than expected and heavily influenced by Donald Barthelme’s The School. Enjoy!

The soft, coffee-brown eyes of Mr. Shanee poured affection onto his newborn daughter, Jebel. “I love you so,” he crooned, stroking her scalp. Jebel blinked up at him, “Remember father, as the futility of your existence hovers between not knowing and immanent mortality, reason denies value.”

If any of my lovely followers and readers would like to create and post their own three sentence stories, I would thoroughly appreciate the fun of reading them! (Just comment telling me to check out your blog and story)

Leave a Reply

